Turkey electoral board: 11 parties to run in June polls


    Turkey's electoral body on Wednesday announced that 11 political parties will compete in the June 24 polls.

    The Supreme Board of Election on Sunday had said 10 parties, including the ruling Justice and Development (AK) Party, main opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP), and Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), will run in the parliamentary and presidential elections.

    The other parties set to compete are the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), Felicity (Saadet) Party, Grand Unity Party (BBP), Independent Turkey Party (BTP), Democrat Party (DP), Patriotic (Vatan) Party, Free Cause (Huda-Par) Party, and newly formed Good (IYI) Party.

    Parliament last Friday passed a bill calling for early elections on June 24, cementing Turkey’s move to a presidential system.

    In an April 2017 referendum, Turkish voters approved the switching from a parliamentary system to a presidential one.

    Under the changes, the number of lawmakers in parliament rises to 600 from 550, presidential and parliamentary elections are held every five years, and presidents can retain ties to their political party. The prime minister post is also abolished.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here